Interview with Author Rae Rankin

Welcome to my blog Rae! Thank you for stopping by.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I realized I wanted to be a writer when I was in 7th grade.

How long have you been writing professionally?

I published my first children’s book, Cowgirl Lessons, in 2017. I have been writing off and on for years.

What does your writing schedule look like?
I have a full time job, as well as several contract jobs. I squeeze writing where I can. Usually it’s in the barn while my daughter is riding her horse.

What are your favorite books to read?

I love books of all kinds. My favorite book as a child was called Molly’s Moe.

What have you found to be the most difficult thing about writing?
Trying not to be overly critical of my own writing.

What have you found to be the most rewarding?
Connecting with both children and adults when I am doing readings of my books.

What advice to you have for aspiring authors?
Just keep writing. That’s the trick.

What publications do you have out now?

Four. Cowgirl Lessons, Cowgirl Christmas, Beach Day, and Mountain Girl

Do you have an upcoming release? If so, tell us about it.
I just released Mountain Girl in June. It’s a charming story of a girl and her family on a vacation to a quaint mountain town and their adventures.

What writing projects are you working on?
I’m working on another Cowgirl book. Tentatively titled Cowgirl and the Ghost Horse.

That sounds interesting! Where can we follow you and purchase your books?
You can follow me on Instagram @raerankinauthor, Twitter @cavezzale, Facebook @raerankin, my website at http://www.raerankin.com. All of my books are available at Amazon and other online retailers.

Thank you again for stopping by. Readers, if you or your child are a fan of cowgirls, give these books a try!

Leave a Comment